Kids can work on farms!

I guess some people want to make it so kids won’t be allowed to work on farms anymore.  That would be sad, because my brothers and sisters and I work on the farm pretty much every day.  I personally like to work on the farm more that I like to work in the house! 

ImageSome of the chores I can do to help are milking and feeding calves.  When I help milk, I get the cows in the barn.  Six cows at a time.  My little brothers like to do this job with me.  I also spray the teats with a sanitizer, and when the cows are finished milking I can take the milker off. 

When I feed calves I first mix up the bottles of milk, then I carry them out to the calves and set the bottles on the bottle holders.  When the calves finish drinking I gather up the bottles and take them back into the barn to wash them out really good.  Sometimes a calf doesn’t feel like drinking, so then I climb in the pen and help it drink.  Then I tell me dad that she doesn’t feel very good, so she might need some medicine. 

My little brothers Trevor and Casen like to kick the feed up to the cows and they always like to help us do whatever we are doing at the farm. 

I would be very sad if I was not allowed to work on our dairy farm.  Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kids can work on farms!

  1. tiffanydrape says:

    love this blog! my parents still own/operate a 500 acre registered holstein dairy in upstate NY!!! way to spread the positive word!

  2. gwen says:

    Way to go Hannah! You are a VERY lucky little girl to have parents that teach you how to work! I love your post!

  3. Matt says:

    Great to see this family working together. Beyond the work that gets done, it’s great to see the bonds of family strengthened as they work together.

  4. Pingback: A Kid’s Perspective of Farm Work | chrischinn

  5. thebeefgirl says:

    I love this!! We also run a dairy and our 4 year old son loves helping out around the farm. Great job Hannah!

  6. Nana says:

    Hannah will grow up knowing how hard her parents work so she can go to school, have the things she needs and wants. Hannah is out being part of a family and learning team work. Hannah will go far.

  7. Lana says:

    I have a seven year old named Hannah, and she is helping her big sis bottle feed three diary calves Big Sis will show at 4-H for her first year. I LOVE your story Hannah, and I support your way of life because it is also my way of life. Well said!

  8. Katie Christensen says:

    Very Cute Hannah! I think that is great that you can work on a dairy farm. I wish my kids had a farm to work on.

  9. Great Blog, and great work, Hannah! Our kids like working out in the barn/pastures/coops more than working in the house also! Keep up the writing and working!

  10. lambskinny says:

    Yes, Hannah it would be sad if you could not work to help your family on your farm — it’d also be silly to stop you! Your mom and dad ought to be able to decide for themselves if you are enjoying yourself or struggling against them all the time. Work is good for the soul. Blessings to you and your family. Carley

  11. John says:

    So….what happened to letting parents be responsible for their own kids?

    The Reality: The finest product that America’s family farms has ever produced was a crop of able, willing, ethical, and hardy folks that are accepting of the risks that life has, yet willing to make a go at it; too proud to sit back on their behinds and collect a welfare check; willing to take their bare hands and actually make something (food, fiber, fuel) that other people need.

    Parents, not the government, are the gauge to determine age-appropriateness for farm tasks. The fact of the matter is that family farms cannot survive without their children and America’s workforce will not survive without family farms.

    Whether your farm is dairy, beef, grain, forage, vegetables, fiber, exotics, nurseries, etc., family farms will continue…a true solution to child injuries on farms would include adequate opportunities for farm-safety education…which are very, very limited. Whether or not the government tells me I can or not, my kids will grow up learning how to care for animals and they will learn good herdsman skills. Some cows are crazy, some are not… (as the parent) the crazy ones will not be in my herd.

  12. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

